Flowers, flowers, flowers, etc.

Messy!

Welcome to my life for the past 2 days. This is what it looked like for the last 48 hours. My sister and I recently got a job sewing these flower pins for purses. We had 100 that were supposed to be due today. Fortunately, we were able to work most of the day today, and they will not be picked up till tomorrow. They’re really gorgeous little pins, and I can’t wait to see them on the purses! But I’m tellin’ ya, we’ve had silk taffeta flowers growing out our ears! And if they weren’t in your ears, they were poking you in your seat. There are quite a few steps to making these little guys: cut, serge, ruffle, sew the broach, and triple hot glue the flower to the felt. I’m about used to my left thumb being seared under hot glue =D We had an interesting experience (at best) with the ruffler foot. Our ruffler foot had a mind of its own. Either that, or my machine was trying to beat it up. We eventually resorted to hand-gathering the strips- not the most delightful job… you can ask my sis! But overall, we had a great time and learned a lot about working tirelessly. Yesterday, I worked on them from noon till 6 with no drink, potty, or stretch breaks. Seriously =D

Ready for pick-up

3 thoughts on “Flowers, flowers, flowers, etc.

Leave a Reply

