Asymmetrical refashion

This refashion began with a hilarious 70’s bowling blouse, complete with poofy sleeves and a white collar.

First, I chopped off the sleeves and collar, and then I embarked on cutting my first asymmetrical hemline. I first tried tracing the curve with a plate and, finding it too small a curve, used an elongated, oval, trashcan rim. It worked perfectly! I very recently got my first serger. It is amazing what all it can do. I’ve basically only used the normal 4 thread overlock stitch until today when I tried out the rolled hem on this top. I’m telling you- there is no better way to finish curved edges. In fact, I loved it so much that I even finished the armholes and neckline with the rolled hem. I’ll admit I’m not exactly sure where and with what I’m going to wear this funny top, but it was a neat experiment anyways. Does anyone have any recommendations on how to wear it? I definitely won’t be wearing it without anything under it. I was thinking it would be darling with a high-waisted skirt, but it’s still  just a little odd.

Awkward side view

15 thoughts on “Asymmetrical refashion

  1. This is awesome! I love asymmetrical line. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. I’m definitely a sewing noob and you have a ton of great projects on here. I’m inspired! Keep up the awesome work and I’ll definitely be checking back soon!

Leave a Reply

