Raspberry Cupcakes

These cupcakes are a slight bit of a cheater’s version (cake mix out of a box!), but unfortunately they worked perfectly. I say unfortunately because I now may become a lazy baker and use a mix more often. I might say that a homemade mix would taste a little better. But if you’re in a time crunch, these are just the thing. The reason I made these is because I was craving a cupcake, but definitely not something that would sit heavy in my tummy. These meet both  criteria: #1- Cupcake and #2- Light. They are beautiful cupcakes except for the fact that they are blue. I wish I could made the raspberries stay a little more separated from the batter, but at least it didn’t mess up the taste! I’m sorry I can’t advertise how many fingerfuls of icing I had. Giada’s recipe that I used calls for almond extract which I did use, but I might recommend leaving that out. I adapted the recipe slightly by adding raspberries into the batter as well as the icing. So you can try hers (below), or use some of my pointers, or go all natural and make your own mix instead of using the boxed kind.

Here’s the batter before it turned blue!

Ingredients

  • 1 (18.25-ounce) box white cake mix (recommended: Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe)
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 3 large eggs whites
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 (6-ounce) containers fresh raspberries, cut in half or 1 (16-ounce) container fresh strawberries, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar, plus additional for dusting

Directions

Line 18 muffin cups with muffin papers. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Using an electric mixer, beat the cake mix, water, egg whites, melted butter, almond extract, and vanilla extract in a large bowl for 2 minutes, or until the batter is well blended. Using about 1/3 cup of batter for each cupcake, spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups.

Bake the cupcakes until they are very pale golden on top, about 15 minutes. Cool the cupcakes completely on a cooling rack.

Using a fork, coarsely mash 1 1/2 containers of raspberries in a medium bowl. Beat the cream and 1/3 cup of powdered sugar in a large bowl until firm peaks form. Fold the mashed raspberries into the whipped cream.

Generously dollop a spoonful of icing onto each of the cupcakes and eat immediately.

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

