Worn: Lace Trim Top

I’ve decided to start a series of blog posts titled “Worn” where I will take a piece of clothing that I’ve made in the past and show a few different ways to wear it. Hopefully, this will inspire you to wear things you make and will help me figure out things to wear it with, that I probably wouldn’t otherwise think of. Today’s piece is my lace trim top.

See the chair I’m redoing? It was $1 at garage sale! I’m gonna paint it turquoise…

This outfit, which happens to probably be my favorite outfit PERIOD, consists of the lace top over a cream tanktop with a high-waisted, breezy midi-skirt. I think most colors would be beautiful, but this particular skirt is navy blue (as you can hopefully see). Then, I’m just wearing some simple leather sandals, completing the elegantly easy-going look. I’ll wear this to places like church or a pretty nice supper somewhere.

Here’s a crazy way to wear the lace top in the winter or late fall (considering the socks and boots). I’m wearing my pleated granny top, which is essentially a blouse with a bow collar, under the lace top, with skinny jeans and boots and socks. I don’t really see myself actually wearing this, but I thought the idea was a good one. You could possibly wear it to class or just a day around town.

This outfit would work great any time of the year- in the fall and winter with a cardigan, and in the spring and summer by itself. As you can see, I’m just wearing the lace top over the cream tanktop with some coral jeans and my lace boat-shoes. In my opinion, the leather purse ties the whole thing together. This classy look would work great for most anything, because it is somewhat nice, yet pretty casual ( if that makes any sense). Let me know which is your favorite outfit!

7 thoughts on “Worn: Lace Trim Top

  1. I like this series! So many people have the impression that clothes are disposable. Not so! Done right and clothes can be worn several ways and many times. I love the first look – you hit it right on the spot with your description – it’s elegant and easy going

    • I’m glad to know you like the idea of this series! I think it will be pretty fun. I totally agree with you that clothes are definitely not disposable. I’m hoping to train myself to wear all the things in my closet, because right now there are several things I consciously avoid. Thanks for your encouraging words!!!! =D

  2. That lace top is so pretty, and versatile! I like all your looks, especially the first one :) I would pair it with a denim skirt and nude sandals with a heel, and a light soft coloured scarf, maybe peach or yellow :)

Leave a Reply

