Cranberry Sauce

I don’t know about you, but cranberry sauce is one of the best things about the Thanksgiving meal. Well, really everything is the best part of the meal… hmmm, except the green  bean casserole. Anyways, back to the sauce. I love it so much I even eat that canned, jellyish, weird kind. But if you’re looking for some top-notch cranberry sauce, I’ve got the kind for you. It’s pretty sweet but fresh tasting, since, after all, it does use fresh cranberries. The recipe calls for cointreau, but considering we didn’t have any on hand, I used apple cider in its stead, which I think was a good move. It’s so fast and easy. I probably made it in about 20 minutes including cook time. I wanted to post  a pumpkin pie we made– I put the word “PIE” on top using crust. So excited about it… But the pie crust edges fell into the pie, so now we have a collapsed pie, not worthy of a photo. I also made a pumpkin cheesecake pie today. Let me know what you are making for the big meal. Y’all have a happy and thankful Thanksgiving!

Yummy Cranberry Sauce

Directions:

Combine one 12-ounce bag cranberries, 1 diced peeled Granny Smith apple, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup Cointreau or Grand Marnier, 1/2 cup water and 1/4 teaspoon each ground cinnamon and cloves in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer until the berries start to pop, about 10 minutes. Off the heat, stir in the grated zest of 1 each lemon and orange; chill.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

