Refashioned: Colored Jeans

P1020241

This project has been on my list for a while. Deciding to try it out, I bought some teal RIT dye. The liquid dye worked smoothly. Here are the jeans I started with:

P1020221

Being too short, these jeans would be perfect to tuck into boots or roll up. But first they needed something…. I bleached my jeans for just 6 to 7 hours. I was following (mostly) these instructions which said to bleach for more than 30 hours. That would probably be best if you were dying them a very light color. Into the bleach–

P1020223

Out of the bleach–

P1020224

Then I made the too-short, boyfriend jeans into some comfy straight jeans. Here’s my post about “jean-slimming.” This is truly the ultimate cut for a pair of jeans. They are the right shape, but they don’t ride up your leg every time you sit down. I must say I was tempted to leave my jeans in this straight, bleached state instead of dying them.

P1020225

After I mixed the teal dye and some hot water together in a bucket, I dropped my jeans in for about 30 minutes. That was a lot of stirring.

P1020226

Rinsing and washing them left me with these gorgeous, sea green-colored jeans. They go perfectly with all my lace shirts. Also, I think they would be cute in the winter with big sweaters.

P1020233

Does anyone have any good ideas for treating bleach spots? Because, each time I washed them new bleach spots would appear. I’m thinking that perhaps I should have washed them with vinegar.

8 thoughts on “Refashioned: Colored Jeans

Leave a Reply

