Lace and Wine

P1030645

That is- the color “wine.” Making this dress was my first experience with a vintage pattern. With double darts, a faux button-up front, and the fit-and-flare style, this pattern is one of my favorites, even among the ones I have drafted. I am amazed how well it fits! What could be better than a dress that fits perfectly? Fabric for $1 a yard, of course! And wine-colored rayon challis at that, which is the color I have been loving for this fall and winter (please don’t call it maroon… that takes away from the whole elegance of the look) and my favorite material of all time. To top it off, I used a lace collar from a garage sale, which I have been saving for the perfect project. This ought to be just the dress for casual occasions throughout fall and winter. A cardigan will layer nicely over it, or tights under it, and boots beneath it! Also, for anyone wondering, my new (vintage) sewing machine stitched up this dress like a dream.

P1030654

P1030650

P1030631

13 thoughts on “Lace and Wine

    • Ahhh, I completely forgot to post a photo of the pattern on here. So sorry! If you look at my last post I think you can see it. It’s the McCall’s 9269 pattern. If you are able to find it, for reference, it is a misses’ size 12-14. But I am usually a size 4 or 6. So that’s kind of the size difference there. I hope you are able to find something like it!!!

Leave a Reply

