Quick DIY: Bunting!

P1040010

What sewing room, or bedroom, or living room doesn’t need a little perk? This is pretty much the cutest “little perk” I’ve ever seen– scrap bunting! You can personalize this within only the limits of your own scraps… burlap, polka dots, pink, lace, vintage novelty, anything you have in your sewing closet (do you see my pink flowery pinata fabric?). On top of its cuteness, this bunting happens to be super easy and super cheap to make. All you need is a few fabric scraps, some bias tape, and a bit of lace trim, and about an hour. Simply, cut your triangles in whatever size and quantity you like with pinking shears. Next, fold your bias tape in half and stick the lace trim (I used a ruffled eyelet) in between. Stitch the lace trim into the bias tape for a few inches; then begin adding your triangles under the trim but still inside the folded tape. Continue to stitch along the top of the bias tape until all your lovely little triangles are attached and finish by sewing the last few inches of lace trim into the bias tape. This project would make a great gift or party decoration (I’m using this one for a Shirley Temple birthday party), or of course an adorable addition to your room, hung daintily over your window.

P1040002

P1040007

8 thoughts on “Quick DIY: Bunting!

  1. I have this ‘thing’ for scrolling through the sewing category here on WordPress, and tonight, this was the first post that came up. Naturally, being the nosy … er … curious … person that I am, I had to come look. And I saw that I will definitely be back! Cuz I love making new things from old, and I love the Lord Jesus Christ too!!

  2. A girl after my own heart—save everything and put to good and interesting use when the creativity and occasion calls for it. I had never thought of doing a bunting, though, Great idea from a great mind!

Leave a Reply

