Lentil Salad and Tzatziki

Healthy Experiment #1

As I begin this endeavor of living a healthier (technically I should say “more healthful”) lifestyle, I keep bumping into new ideas to add to my repertoire. Many are recipes. Others, ahem, are of a slightly more gross and experimental nature. Stay tuned in case I decide to share. Today’s is a wonderfully delicious and nutritious lunch to grab and go. It comes from Sarah Britton’s My New Roots recipe book. I made it on Sunday afternoon for the whole week’s worth of lunches. This black lentil salad with tzatziki and avocado has been a yummy meal that I look forward to. Something I recently learned about nutrition made eating this lunch even better. Here’s the beef– (well, actually the beans…) Humans need calories. However, what we need to be mindful of is how we get those calories. Only a small percentage of our daily caloric intake should be from fat. The rest is from carbs and protein. Hence, the lentils (protein) make a great filler for our hungry stomachs, providing the calories we need. You can find the recipe here!

The Last Warm Day (LazyLens 20160127 011938 HD)

Aqua (LazyLens 20160127 084612 HD)

Leave a Reply

